Out of Memory

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
ha100
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:09 pm

Out of Memory

Post by ha100 »

I get 'out of memory' every time I make an incremental backup of around 12 million files. The full backup went through ok.
It does not matter if I turn on 'put catalog in RAM' or not. It does not matter if I make a backup to cloud or on the internal network.
What can this be? Does Back4All not support a 10 million files backup?
I have increased my ram up to 32 gb. It makes no difference.

ha100
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by ha100 »

I have put the backup on a new server with 64 gb ram. The same problem.
Now I first get 'Out of Memory' and after that 'Error: Invalid command line parameter or no imtStart messager received! '.
I have disabled DEP and restarted the backupserver. Nothing seems to solve this. I guess Backup4All cannot cope with this amount of files.

Are there any suggestions?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1804
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Please let us know how large is the backup catalog file from:
C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Roaming\Softland\Backup4all 8\Catalogs\

ha100
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by ha100 »

Hello Adrian,

Thanks for your reply.
The catalog is 2.6 gb.
Is this too large? What can I do about it?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1804
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

It seems the problem is that you have many backup versions of those 12 million files.
That will result in a large catalog.
Please use the cleanup action to clean some old versions, in order to reduce the catalog file size.

ha100
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by ha100 »

Thanks,
How large can a catalog be?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1804
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

As Backup4all is a 32-bit application, it is allowed to use 2 GB or memory. The backup catalog should be under 2 GB.

ha100
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:09 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by ha100 »

That makes it very clear. Are there plans to move to 64 bits?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1804
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Out of Memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

We are thinking about moving to 64-bit but not in the near future.

VertecAG
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2022 11:51 am

Re: Out of Memory

Post by VertecAG »

Hello,

We have the same problem but the backup contains only 600k to 700k files. The (full)backup failes at around 60-70% with "out of memory".
I already unchecked the "Store temporary catalog data in memory" option but the process still got up to around 2GB memory use. Was that the problem?

The backup catalog file itself is only 130MB.

Is there any news regarding a 64-bit build? :D

Thanks

UPDATE
We have another backup job that containts 760k files and that one also takes up 1.7GB memory although I've disabled "Store temporary catalog data in memory".

Post Reply