Preserving "first version"

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
Xyzzy
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Preserving "first version"

Post by Xyzzy »

Hello,

Is this possible to set up b4all to always keep first version ("original") of a file. So for example 1st version and two last versions are kept?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Preserving "first version"

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Yes, you can set Backup4all to keep 3 file versions, in Backup Properties->Type->Storage. Set the "Limit file versions to" 3.
The first full backup will include the first file version and it will not be altered when older versions of the files are deleted. The full will remain intact as it is the base backup.

Xyzzy
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Preserving "first version"

Post by Xyzzy »

If I set up daily incremental backup keeping 3 file versions, 1st run on Monday and a file added on Tuesday and changed every day - will I have original version of the added file next Monday?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Preserving "first version"

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Yes, because the first full backup is not merged with other backups.

Xyzzy
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Preserving "first version"

Post by Xyzzy »

But the file added on Tuesday, when 1st backup was done on Monday, will not be in the first full backup, right? On Friday its 4th version would be created and backed up - will 1st version from Tuesday be preserved in such a case?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1598
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Preserving "first version"

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

In such a case, if the file was first added after the full backup, its first version will not be preserved. If the backup containing the file will be merged with another backup containing a newer version of the same file, only the newest version will remain.

Post Reply