If the merge option is not checked, the backup versions exceeding the limit will be deleted.
In your case it was backup no.2. As backup no.3 and the following versions depends on backup no.2, you cannot remove backup no.2 and keep backup no.3 as you cannot restore no.3 without having no.2. This is why all backups depending on backup no.2 are deleted.
Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.