New permsion required: "See, edit, create, and delete all of your Google Drive files"

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
Oren
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 9:33 am

New permsion required: "See, edit, create, and delete all of your Google Drive files"

Post by Oren »

This is way more extreme than what's described in the guide: https://www.backup4all.com/how-to-backu ... ve-kb.html

Permission request in the guide: https://i.imgur.com/m8AEMNH.png
Actual permission request: https://i.imgur.com/0m800iD.png

Any reason for this change? I don't want to allow backup4all to delete files on Google Drive that were not created by it, and I don't see why this should be required.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: New permsion required: "See, edit, create, and delete all of your Google Drive files"

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Backup4all has no option to delete from Google Drive the files that were created outside Backup4all. It will only manage the files created by Backup4all.

The authentication dialog for Google Drive is a standard one. Manage the files means to create, edit, delete or view them.
We ask for all those permissions once in order to cover all Backup4all possible actions (backup, cleanup, restore, test).

Post Reply