Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
CCRBob

Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by CCRBob »

I keep receive the following error every week:

Error: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Anybody here know why?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1702
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

eop

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by eop »

I'm getting the same "Out of memory" error and I think I already tried all possible property combinations including the suggestion here: http://www.backup4all.com/kb/using-back ... 79.html#61

Just cannot get it working. It fails every time.

I have a large folder (specified as source) with a number of subfolders and files. This is an extract from the log:

[28/05/2010 1:20:16 PM] Folders found to backup: 116,540
[28/05/2010 1:20:16 PM] Files found to backup: 1,311,124 (170.48 GB)

I cannot really split this job to a number of smaller jobs as folders immediately below the root are being created and modified every day. We just cannot manually update "source" directories every day. Compression is a mandatory requirement for us.

Please help.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1702
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Please send us to support[at]backup4all[dot]com these files:
- the .bkc catalog file for that job. You can find the .bkc file if you go to View->Open folder->Destination folder.
- the .log file for the last backup job. To find it, please go to: View->Job Logs->Last Backup Log.
Put the files into a zip/rar archive.
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

eop

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by eop »

A quick update.

We added more physical memory to the box (64bit Win2008) – increasing it from 3GB to 5GB. It got the issue resolved. The checkbox “create independent splits” is unchecked and "split by size" is set to 1GB.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1702
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

I'm glad the problem caused by the large number of files was solved.
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

deepa
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:21 am

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by deepa »

Hi
What is recommned values for split files size and or count of we have to backup approx 10-15 GB of data using ftp backup?
how will this effect restore operations?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1702
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: Backup aborted. Reason: Out of memory

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

If you back up to FTP, Backup4all will automatically split the files at 2 GB. That is because many FTP servers does not allow larger files.
The restore won't be affected as Backup4all will handle just fine the splits it creates.
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

Post Reply