Update the cataloge

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
Tungsten
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:44 pm

Update the cataloge

Post by Tungsten »

I have manually copied some files from a CD-ROM into my Backup4all folder, is there a way to update the program catalogue so they are recognised by Backup4all.

Tungsten

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Update the cataloge

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

No, you cannot do that. You cannot update the catalog based on the files you manually put in destination.
The files needs to be backed up with Backup4all to be included in backup catalog.

cmuscata
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:54 pm

Re: Update the cataloge

Post by cmuscata »

But is there no way to update the catalog to reflect the real files in the drive? Ie to test that the catalog matches the real files? It seems like a basic necessity.

Thanks,
chris

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Update the cataloge

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

That is not possible. In order to ensure the backup consistency, we cannot consider any file in destination as being healthy (not corrupted, or invalid), so the files must be copied in destination by Backup4all.

Post Reply