rerun past incremental backups

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
bthart
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2023 8:41 pm

rerun past incremental backups

Post by bthart »

Hello all,

I back up to CDs, using incremental jobs. I had a disc fail which had a few incremental backups. How do I tell B4All to rebackup just the files in those incremental backups? I don't want to rerun the full backup. And, I do not have the full backup onsite (the full backup and older incremental backups are stored off site).

Thanks.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1818
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Please open Backup4all and press the Clean button.
Select the backup versions you want to delete and press Clean.
Then run again the backup.
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

bthart
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2023 8:41 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by bthart »

Thanks Adrian.

I tried Clean, but I get an error and it aborts. The reason is "The built-in burner does not recognize "J" as a writer.". See the log file below. Not sure if this is relevant, but J: is the drive letter of my DVD burner.

[1/3/2023 5:32:48 PM] C:\Program Files (x86)\Softland\Backup4all 7\bCleanup.exe /GUI {11111111-1111-1111-1111-222222222222} /JOB {F8FF768F-A307-413F-9F69-0BB3FCD70997}
[1/3/2023 5:32:48 PM] Search for "Warning: " and "Error: " to locate warnings and errors in this log file
[1/3/2023 5:32:48 PM] Operating system: Windows 10 Enterprise (Build 19045)
Processor[0] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz
Processor[1] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz
Processor[2] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz
Processor[3] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz
Processor[4] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz
Processor[5] : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-8400 CPU @ 2.80GHz
Physical memory (free/total) : 9231 MB/24390 MB
User : DAPHNE\Brian
Admin/BkPriv/RePriv : True/True/True
IsWOW64 : True
Locale : English (United States)
Installed antiviruses:
Windows Defender

[1/3/2023 5:32:48 PM] Opening file "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\Softland\Backup4all 7\Backup4all.hst"
[1/3/2023 5:32:48 PM] Opening file "C:\Users\Brian\AppData\Roaming\Softland\Backup4all 7\Catalogs\Hart BU.bkc"

[1/3/2023 5:32:49 PM] Starting cleanup on "Hart BU" at 1/3/2023 5:32:49 PM (cannot delete backups from this destination)
Cleanup finished in 0 second(s) at 1/3/2023 5:32:49 PM with 1 error(s)
Clean aborted. Reason:
The built-in burner does not recognize "J" as a writer.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1818
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

What about if you run a Repair for that job?
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

bthart
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2023 8:41 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by bthart »

I'm not sure how to use Repair to mark previously backed up files as un-backed up. Any suggestions?

bthart
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2023 8:41 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by bthart »

I looked more at "Repair", and it doesn't seem like that would do what I need. It tests the files against the destination, which I don't have (full backup off site).

Clean seems like it should work, but I get the "J" error.

I'm surprised this is not an easier thing to figure out.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1818
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

The repair will first perform a test of the files in destination and the missing ones will be backed up again.
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

bthart
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2023 8:41 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by bthart »

Adrian, in my case since I back up to DVDs, I can't point to one location as a destination. The full BU and older incrementals are stored off-site.

It does not seem like it should be so hard to rerun a backup. Is there a way to manually edit the catalog?

I searched the support archives again but can't find any more useful information.

Anyone have any ideas on this??

bthart
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2023 8:41 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by bthart »

No comments or suggestions, so I guess no one has ever had this issue.

It seems like "Clean" should be the way to resolve it, but I get the error mentioned before:
"The built-in burner does not recognize "J" as a writer.". Not sure if this is relevant, but J: is the drive letter of my DVD burner.

Can we focus on this error message? What is causing it?

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1818
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: rerun past incremental backups

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Hi,

Please send us the .bkc catalog file for that job by email to support[at]backup4all[dot]com
Also let us know the backup number you want to be clean from catalog.
Do you know you can monitor your backups remotely with Backup4all Monitor? You can read more here: https://www.backup4all.com/backup4all-monitor.html

Post Reply