Previous versions not being deleted

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
Insight101
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 10:00 am

Previous versions not being deleted

Post by Insight101 » Wed May 19, 2010 10:22 am

Hi,

We use 2 rotating USB drives to do FULL backups so that backup#1 is on USB drive 1, backup#2 is on USB drive 2, backup#3 is on USB drive 1, backup #4 is on USB drive 2, and so on.

We have set B4All to keep on only 2 previous backups, but they are not being deleted. It seems that the program looks for the oldest backup to delete which is not on the drive that is plugged in and therefore leaves older backups in place...

How can we get around this?

Support
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Previous versions not being deleted

Post by Support » Wed May 19, 2010 11:48 am

Hi,

Please read this article about how to use the backup rotation scheme: https://www.backup4all.com/how-to-backup-...-kb.html
In your case you forgot to uncheck the "Use local catalogs" option from Backup Properties->Advanced page.

Post Reply