Moving Source Destination Folder

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
janzam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:28 pm

Moving Source Destination Folder

Post by janzam » Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:21 pm

OK so I have an external HDD that I backup to my NAS. If, for example, I move a folder containing photos from one Sub Folder to another within the source HDD, why does Backup4All not just do the same thing on the NAS and move the mentioned folder backup into the subfolder? Why does it have to re-copy all 150GB of the folder again when all it could do is move the folder?

Someone please give me a simple explanation for this as it's pretty inconvenient.

Thanks.

janzam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: Moving Source Destination Folder

Post by janzam » Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:25 pm

PS. I'm currently running on a trial version of this software and I will definitely consider buying it however i need to sort out these issues first. I am a photographer and I am constantly backing up tons of photos and moving them around etc.. therefore it's important for me to get this right.

Support
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Moving Source Destination Folder

Post by Support » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:27 pm

Hi,

This is how Backup4all was designed to work.
The folder is considered to be new and it will be backed up.

Post Reply