How to make backup flag failed when it cant backup any files?

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
madusmacus
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:17 am

How to make backup flag failed when it cant backup any files?

Post by madusmacus » Sun Jul 07, 2019 9:36 am

Currently it just flags it as a warning
This means I didnt realise there was days and days of failed backups

Warnings happen alot here due to various locks (Visusal studio edge etc etc)
and it generaly not important to me but....

Complete Failure to backup files needs to be flagged as FAIL in big bright red letters heheheh :¬)

Any ways to do this?
Log snipet below

-----------------

[06/07/2019 05:00:05] Opening file "C:\Users\Bryan\AppData\Roaming\Softland\Backup4all 8\Catalogs\offsite.bkc"
[06/07/2019 05:00:07] Checking if the drives of the sources exist
[06/07/2019 05:00:10] Opening file ""
:evil: [06/07/2019 05:02:09] Warning: Following drives could not be found: \\MONSTER\Develop
[06/07/2019 05:02:10] Creating the list of files to backup
[06/07/2019 05:02:10] Opening file ":memory:"
[06/07/2019 05:02:12] Folders found to backup: 0
[06/07/2019 05:02:12] Files found to backup: 0 (0 bytes)

Next scheduled backup: 13/07/2019 05:00:00
:evil: Backup completed in 2:08 minute(s) at 06/07/2019 05:02:12 with 0 error(s), 1 warning(s)

Support
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: How to make backup flag failed when it cant backup any files?

Post by Support » Tue Jul 09, 2019 11:59 am

Hi,

Are there any other source drives in that backup job? other than the one disconnected.

madusmacus
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:17 am

Re: How to make backup flag failed when it cant backup any files?

Post by madusmacus » Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:27 pm

Nope its just a network folder
it has some inclusion exclusions associated with it

was just wondering if i could some hopw flag this as Failed if it couldnt to anythign at all due to network pc offline or failed mount

I use backup4all on my master pc server to do individual backups of networked pc's
sometimes network cards fail or pcs get in weird states and this happens
so i dont realy know if the backup worked without checking the logs all the time (bit of a pain and i forget)

thanks for reading :¬)

P.S.

actualy ..............
[06/07/2019 05:02:12] Folders found to backup: 0
[06/07/2019 05:02:12] Files found to backup: 0 (0 bytes)
could that be flagged as fail as it did nothing at all?

Support
Posts: 1478
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: How to make backup flag failed when it cant backup any files?

Post by Support » Tue Jul 16, 2019 12:01 pm

Hi,

In such a case, the backup cannot be flagged as failed. It will be marked as finished with warnings.
You can configure the email notifications to be send when the backup is finished with warnings or errors.

madusmacus
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:17 am

Re: How to make backup flag failed when it cant backup any files?

Post by madusmacus » Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:13 pm

Yep i understood that :¬)
Was jsut hoping that i could flag it as "Failed" if it Failed to do anything (network error etc)

Nay mind

Post Reply