FTP Backup

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
piwail
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 5:28 pm

FTP Backup

Post by piwail » Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:25 pm

Hi,

I would like to use B4A to mirror 33 giga byte of data on a distant ftp. I have just finished to upload thoses files using an FTP client. And now I'd like B4A to compare both local and distant folders without uploading the files already on the ftp place. Is it possible to do this even if B4A was not used at first time to transfert the files ? I mean no catalog has been created and I don't want B4A to transfert 33 giga byte one more time...

Thanks

Regards

Pierre-Yves

Support
Posts: 1491
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: FTP Backup

Post by Support » Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:25 pm

Hi,

Normally, you cannot do that. Backup4all does not compare the source files with the files in destination in order to create the backup catalog.
You should run the backup locally without using the local catalog, move the backup to destination and after that change the destination in Backup Properties as explained in this article: http://www.backup4all.com/kb/backup-str ... p-239.html

In this case (please note this is not a rule) you can now run a locally backup. Please make sure the "Use local catalog" option is unchecked in Backup Properties->Advanced.
The backup catalog will be created.
Skip the step to move the files as they are already on FTP. Just make sure they are in the same subfolder(s) as created locally by Backup4all.
Put the backup catalog from local destination to FTP
Change the backup destination in Backup Properties to FTP.

piwail
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 5:28 pm

Re: FTP Backup

Post by piwail » Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:29 pm

thanks for you answer, I'll try that.

Fletch
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:59 pm

Re: FTP Backup

Post by Fletch » Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:23 pm

Hi there I read with interest this topic as it is similar to what I have a been having problems with. In essence I just can't get the backup catalog to delete all the history of the previous backups after I have "Opened from ftp site" I'm just going around and around with this :(

Did you have any luck ?

Fletch

Support
Posts: 1491
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: FTP Backup

Post by Support » Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:23 pm

Hi,

To delete all backup versions, please open Backup Properties->Advanced.
In the "Run action before backup" section, select the "Run program or action" and "Run only once" options.
Press Save and run the backup.

Fletch
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:59 pm

Re: FTP Backup

Post by Fletch » Sun Feb 27, 2011 9:32 am

Apologies Support, I meant "I can't Stop" the backup catelogue being deleted... rather than the history but really that his the same. Regardless of whether I uncheck the "use local catalogue" check box or bot the same result happens when you change the ftp destination.

Would it be possible perhaps to have one of you guys run the excercise in screenshoots or a presentation so I can see if we are loosing something in communication....

Many thanks
Fletch

Support
Posts: 1491
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: FTP Backup

Post by Support » Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:27 am

Hi,

If you follow the correct steps from this tutorial, you won't get other results:
http://www.backup4all.com/kb/backup-str ... p-239.html

Fletch
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:59 pm

Re: FTP Backup

Post by Fletch » Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:25 pm

Hi Support, finally I got the ftp destination to change following your instructions. Thanks very much for your help.... :D

Post Reply