CRC32 error

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
ddelbiondo
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:33 pm

CRC32 error

Post by ddelbiondo » Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:02 pm

Hello,

I am backing up from a Windows Server 2003 to a Windows Server 2003. The Windows Server I am backing up to is using Ipswitch WS_FTP Server. The backup completes and the files are uploaded, but I get the following warning.

[8/14/2011 9:17:55 PM] Warning: The upload of "/users/bk4all/bk4all/website_Backup_House_Windows/1_E.zip" to FTP server has failed (CRC32 error).

I believe it is coming from the server we are backing up to and it only happens on the initial backup. Any idea why?

Thanks,
David

Support
Posts: 1475
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: CRC32 error

Post by Support » Wed Aug 17, 2011 1:39 pm

Hi,

Please send us the complete backup log from View->Job Logs->Last backup log to support[at]backup4all[dot]com

ddelbiondo
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:33 pm

Re: CRC32 error

Post by ddelbiondo » Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:05 pm

I forwarded the complete log to support@backup4all.com.

Thanks,
David

Support
Posts: 1475
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: CRC32 error

Post by Support » Fri Aug 19, 2011 11:50 am

Hi,

After running a manual test by pressing Test (F9) button, the test shows there are no errors.
That means the backup is fine.

ddelbiondo
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:33 pm

Re: CRC32 error

Post by ddelbiondo » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:01 pm

I wanted to add some closure to this thread.

The CRC32 error is a Cyclic Redundancy Check error. As the blocks of data are uploaded a value is attached to them and totaled in the end. Then the uploaded data is summed up to see if the 2 numbers match. If they do not a CRC32 error is generated. After some research and talking to some Microsoft Tech friends, they believe it might have to do with the raid setup on our server. We have several drives spanned as one logical drive. Writing the data across the multiple drives may be affecting the values. Of course most of this it theory.

In the FTP Configuration there is a check box, "Use XCRC when testing (if available)". We unchecked it and the error went away. We also have run and tested several backups with no errors.

David

Post Reply