Catalog name

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
arobbert
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:19 pm

Catalog name

Post by arobbert » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:34 pm

I created a copy of an existing catalog. Modified it and and tested the new backup i.e. test-copy. A catalog called test-copy.bkc is created.

Then I edited and changed the name to new backup. I deleted the old catalog file test-copy.bkc. When I run the backup a new catalog is created using the old name (test-copy.bkc). How do I force the backup to use the new name (new backup.bkc)?

arobbert
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:19 pm

Re: Catalog name

Post by arobbert » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:25 pm

It appears you are unable to change the name of the catalog once it has been created. Must be a bug. Version 6.2.

Support
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Catalog name

Post by Support » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:52 am

Hi,

1. What version of Backup4all do you have?
2. What is the backup destination type?

arobbert
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:19 pm

Re: Catalog name

Post by arobbert » Wed Nov 23, 2016 6:57 pm

6.2 build 245
Network/mirror

Support
Posts: 1496
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Catalog name

Post by Support » Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:09 am

Hi,

I just tested the following steps and the rename works fine.
1. In Backup4all you have the "old-backup" job. Right-click it and select Duplicate. A job named "old-backup copy" will be created.
2. Right click the "old-backup copy" and select Properties. Type a new name for the job. For example: "new-backup".
3. Press Save. The job name will be changed and also the catalog and folder in destination will be renamed.

Post Reply