Broken backup repair.

Have questions about Backup4all, or having problems using it? Ask here for help.
Post Reply
Xyzzy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Broken backup repair.

Post by Xyzzy »

This is not the first time I have similar issues with B4a, but this time after two days of struggling I have really enough.

After repairing backup using all the options in turn, I got eventually some files marked as to be backed up at the next backup execution. But this does not happen.
See attached screenshot showing files marked to be backed up and log of backup executiong showing no action.
And no, I won't send you bkp file - you can send me a debug version producing text output I could censor before sending back to you.

And please stop popping up these ISS information at every page visit - as far as I know it is just the lowest bidder who gets a government contract.
Attachments
Grafika_20200915173223.backup.zip
(2.78 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
b4k.jpg
b4k.jpg (63.16 KiB) Viewed 102 times

Xyzzy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Broken backup repair.

Post by Xyzzy »

It looks to me like for some reason B4a is not checking source when repairing/testing. It's like it thinks it has actual state of sources and compares this state with backup - I have not noticed refreshing source data when doing repairs.

Anyway, just to let you know - I've lost confidence in B4a (around v7 I think) to the degree that I run post-backup my own program to roughly check what B4a done... :/

Xyzzy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Broken backup repair.

Post by Xyzzy »

Oh, and if you want me to run some queries on bkp - no problem.

Xyzzy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Broken backup repair.

Post by Xyzzy »

So, maybe a word how I got to this state.

I set up a new backup target server (same name, shares etc.) and recreated all mirror backups (like the problematic one) simply by running Repair.

In case of this one, I needed to terminate running backup. I did it by using Stop option or just by closing computer, don't remember now.

Now I am unable to convince B4a that there are still files to be backed up.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Broken backup repair.

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Xyzzy wrote:
> It looks to me like for some reason B4a is not checking source when
> repairing/testing. It's like it thinks it has actual state of sources and
> compares this state with backup - I have not noticed refreshing source data
> when doing repairs.
>
> Anyway, just to let you know - I've lost confidence in B4a (around v7 I
> think) to the degree that I run post-backup my own program to roughly check
> what B4a done... :/


Hi,

When running a repair, Backup4all will test all files in destination against the information stored in the backup catalog file. After that, the missing files will be included in the next backup, among with the other new or modified files.
So the repair includes the test part and the backup part. The sources are not affected during the repair.

Adrian (Softland)
Posts: 1574
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:46 pm
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contact:

Re: Broken backup repair.

Post by Adrian (Softland) »

Xyzzy wrote:
> So, maybe a word how I got to this state.
>
> I set up a new backup target server (same name, shares etc.) and recreated
> all mirror backups (like the problematic one) simply by running Repair.
>
> In case of this one, I needed to terminate running backup. I did it by
> using Stop option or just by closing computer, don't remember now.
>
> Now I am unable to convince B4a that there are still files to be backed up.

Hi,

If you just closed the computer, the backup process was killed by the OS, so in such a case no catalog was saved. The backup will start again next time you execute it.
If you stopped the backup by pressing the Stop button, the current file in progress is processed, then the catalog is saved. The backup will continue with the remaining files, next time you execute it.

Xyzzy
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 9:25 pm

Re: Broken backup repair.

Post by Xyzzy »

I contacted B4a support and they provided an advice to uncheck the "Smart file scanning mode" in backup properties.
This seems to work and the backup is progressing.
Still, I would expect Repair to handle such situations better.

So all is well that ends well.

Post Reply